2022 End of Season Presentation

Josh Tolley and Kabir Ahmed were the big winners at the club presentation night, rewarded for their record-breaking seasons with the bat in the 1st and 2nd teams respectively. Tolley took home the 1st XI batting prize alongside the Majorca Battting Trophy for his 177 against Walsden and the prestigious Asif Mujtaba Medal for the club’s player of the season. Ahmed won the 2nd XI batting prize and was also voted the player’s player of the year. Sami Waheed and Theo Andrew also received two awards apiece.

The announcement was made that Hashum Malik will be stepping down as 1st XI captain and he was honoured with the Joseph Coupe Cup for Club Person of the year as recognition for his efforts over the past 6 years in particular. Greg Butterworth will be the new 1st XI captain for 2023. Ashar Zaidi has rgistered to play for the club as an amateur.

Full list of winners:

1st XI Batting: Josh Tolley

1st XI Bowling: Greg Butterworth 

2nd XI Batting: Kabir Ahmed

2nd XI Bowling: Mo Waheed

3rd XI Batting: Mohammad Omar

3rd XI Bowling: Will Hindley

Women’s Batting: Karen Wood

Women’s Bowling: Aoife Donnelly

Women’s Fielding: Emily Bradshaw

U18s Batting: Spencer Allen

U18s Bowling: Zishan Zahid

U18s Fielding: Theo Andrew

Harold Sibbert Trophy (best junior in senior cricket): Sami Waheed

Bob Tattersall Trophy (best junior fielder in senior cricket): Theo Andrew 

Geoff & Marion Hargreaves Award (players’ player of the year): Kabir Ahmed

Hanmer Cup (best individual performance vs Rochdale): Oli Holt 63 in Worsley Cup Semi-Final

Dick Bonser Trophy (u15s player with representative honours): Oli Kirkby 

Harry Schofield Trophy (u18s player with representative honours): Sami Waheed 

Derek Parker Trophy (most improved player): Oli Yates 

Majorca Batting Trophy (best senior batting performance) Josh Tolley 177 vs Walsden

Majorca Bowling Trophy (best senior bowling performance): Jack Taylor 6 for 23 vs Bacup

Asif Mujtaba Medal (player of the season): Josh Tolley

Joseph Coupe Cup (club person of the year): Hashum Malik