Lancashire League fixtures



17 July Rochdale away T20 6.15pm

18 July Littleborough away 1pm

18 July 2nd team v Littleborough home 1pm

19 July Prestwich away 1pm

19 July 2nd team v Prestwich home 1pm

24 ,July Rochdale home T20 6.15pm

26 July 3rd team v Rochdale away


9 August Norden v Middleton

16 August Burnley v Norden

23 August Ramsbottom v Norden

30 August Norden v Littleborough

Group winners advance to semi-finals

Third X1

1 August Walsden away

8 August Todmorden away

15 August Bacup home

22 August Nelson home

29 August Rochdale away

5 September Haslingden home

Other than T20 all matches are 40 overs per side


Second team fixtures are reverse of above.


Club opening arrangements

We are pleased to announce that Norden Cricket Club will be open to members only (no under 18s) from 5pm on Wednesday 8 July.

The new opening times, until further notice, are –

Monday and Tuesday closed

Wednesday and Thursday 5pm to 10pm

Friday 5pm to 11 pm

Saturday and Sunday 4pm to 11pm

Sheila and her team have worked hard to ensure the clubhouse will be a safe environment for everyone to enjoy.

We have completed the Goverment Covid 19 risk assessment, all the staff have completed Covid 19 training, and the clubhouse has been arranged to ensure Government regulations are adhered to.

The club will be limited to a maximum of 50 people on a first come first served basis.

You will be greeted on arrival and shown to your seat.

You must sanitise your hands on entering the club.

You must provide your name, address, and other contact details for track and trace purposes. These details will be retained under Data protection regulations.

The club will be seating only, no standing, maximum of four persons per table (those four to be from two households only) , and table hopping will not be allowed.

It will be table service only, and card payment only.

Please follow the one way system and rules in place.

Due to reduced capacity and the need to keep movement to a minimum we regretfully cannot allow under 18s into the club until further notice.

The team is fully trained and instructed to ensure Goverment rules are followed.

This is for all our safety and to help stop the spread of the Covid 19 virus by co-operating and working together safely so we can ensure a safe and fun environment.

It is highly unlikely that any of our fantastic members would not adhere to the rules, but there will be a zero tolerance policy in place, just in case.

We look forward to welcoming you.




Scorers wanted

Scorers are wanted for Stags three senior teams.
The pay for League and Cup matches is £40, plus a tea, and for T20 matches it is £25
Lancashire League recommends that all home matches should be scored on ipads or tablets, and all away matches scored in books.
Scorers will be expected to be at the ground half an hour before and after matches.
Age is not a problem, but those interested should have a reasonable knowledge of cricket and cricket laws.
Instruction can be given, especially regarding DLS.
Those interested should ring Les Barlow on 07971 908602.

Stags name captains

HASHUM Malik will continue to lead Stags first team in the 2020 season.
Vice captain will be Lee Crabtree.
Mark Goddard will be second team captain, with Phil Docker as vice captain.
Simon Wystawnoha will be third team captain with Matt Farrand as vice captain.

Club shows a profit

NORDEN Cricket Club showed a net profit of £27,210 in the year ending 30 September.
The figure was released during the club’s annual general meeting.
Officials elected were: President – John Murphy, Chairman – Stuart Hunt, Secretary – Mike Taylor, Treasurer – Joanne Lord.
Re-elected to the General Committee were Gary Wild, Sheila Worsley and Dexter Fitton.
Les Barlow and Steve Clegg stay on the committee after standing down as secretary and treasurer respectively.
Life membership was bestowed on Les Fee.

Four awards for Sami

SAMI Waheed picked up four trophies when Norden held their presentation night on Friday.
Sami played in all three senior teams during the season while still being classed as a junior player.
The players’ player of the year trophy went to wicket-keeper Lee Crabtree, while the ladies’ players’ player of the year award went to Amanda Ratcliffe.
The Coupe Cup for club person of the year was awarded to Steve Clegg.
The trophies were handed out by former Glamorganshire and England player Robert Croft who was also the guest speaker.
1st X1 Batting – Harvey Fitton
1st X1 Bowling – Chris Humphreys
2nd X1 Batting – Mark Goddard
2nd X1 Bowling – Sami Waheed
3rd X1 Batting – Spencer Allen
3rd X1 Bowling – Callum Hill
Hanmer Cup (Best performance against Rochdale – Dominic Humphreys
Bonser Trophy, most representative honours by a junior: – Sami Waheed
Bob Tattersall Trophy, best junior fielder in senior cricket: Jozef Gordon
Harold Sibbert Trophy, best junior in senior cricket: Sami Waheed
Derek Parker Trophy, most improved player: Jordan Drury
Majorca Batting, best individual performance: Joe Humphreys 42 runs in Lancashire final against Darwen.
Majorca Bowling, best individual performance: Sami Waheed 5-11 v Rochdale 2nd
Mujtaba Shield, performance points awarded throughout the season: Greg Butterworth
Butterworth Trophy , most improved lady player: Georgina Sutton
Ladies batting: Emma Bennett
Ladies bowling: Nicola Nellist
Hargreaves Trophy, players’ player of the year: Lee Crabtree
Ladies’ players’ player of the year: Amanda Ratcliffe
Coupe Cup, clubperson of year: Steve Clegg
Special awards: Bob and Les Fee.

Jake signs up for a third season

NORDEN Cricket Club has announced that Jake Sandham will again be the club’s professional in 2020.
It will be Jake’s third season in the position.
This year he scored more than 500 runs and took more than 50 wickets in all forms of cricket, and helped the club to win the Lancashire Cricket Foundation knockout.
Cricket chairman Dexter Fitton said: “We are delighted to re-engage Jake for the 2020 season following his progressive season in which he made some major contributions on the way to winning the Lancashire trophy – which was his first trophy as a professional.
“We hope he can continue to lead a group of similar aged cricketers to evolve and become competitive on all fronts.”